Logo

Valuation questions and

Hello All... newbie here so please be forgiving!

( apologies if my post is a bit long ... hopefully some will read until the end )

I am looking at some BTL opportunities and found a 3bed house all refurbished to high standards that looks interesting in an area that I think will gain in value.

After doing some research I believe that the developers bought the property last year for about 90k.
    There were a few sales last year at that level actually in the same area.
    The highest sale achieved in this street was 105k back in 2005 ... so I would guess pre-crisis... admittedly I could be comparing apples and pears .

Now that they have refurbished completely the property they are asking for 210k.

This is definitely higher than what this area is worth in my opinion ... for example there is a non-refurbished similar house for sale at around 105k I think (I need to call the agent to investigate... but the are closed now)

I am doing the following math... which probably make not much sense... please let me know :

(a) Fair Value of the house:
    They bought the house of 90k
    They have probably spent 15k on refurbishment.... but let's say 25k to be on the safe side
    Let's assume the area has gone up in value by 10% since they bought, again to be safe
    so I think a fair value for the house is 110% x 90 + 25 = 124k

(b) Looking on internet, I believe that if they rent the bedrooms separately (and manage to have 100% occupancy) a toppish yearly gross rent would be around 14k to 15k

As I don't know any builders/architect etc. so I am looking for a ready made investment... hence I was thinking about offering 150k as a cash buyer.

That gives them a 21% bonus to what I think the fair value of the house is and a 30% return on their 115k investment.

But this is a 30% discount on the value they are asking for with the agent... which sounds massive.

So here are my questions:
    1/ Is my reasoning flawed and/or too simplistic ?